Unsync Dropbox

Posted onby

Hi there, gxhxoxsxtxfxm!
Thanks for reaching out to the Apple Support Communities! That is a great question you have no longer syncing your files to iCloud and I am happy to help! Based on what you are describing, I would suggest taking a look at this article to Add your Desktop and Documents files to iCloud Drive. Specifically, take a look at this information about turning off Desktop and Documents:

You have Dropbox installed at home on your laptop, at work on your desktop, and on your mobile device. Syncing all the folders eats u. I used migration assistant to move data including my Dropbox folder from an old Macbook Pro to the new Apple M1 Silicon Macbook Pro. Afterwards, on the new computer I opened the dropbox app, which then started to sync each and every one of the files, even though the dropbox.

Turn off Desktop and Documents

When you turn off Desktop & Documents Folders, your files stay in iCloud Drive and a new Desktop and Documents folder is created on your Mac in the home folder. You can move files from iCloud Drive to your Mac as you need them, or select all of your files and drag them to the place you want to keep them.

  1. From your Mac, go to Apple menu > System Preferences > iCloud.
  2. Next to iCloud Drive, click Options.
  3. Deselect Desktop & Documents Folders.
  4. Click Done.

If you turn off iCloud Drive or sign out of iCloud, you have the option to keep a local copy of your files that are in iCloud Drive. Whether you decide to keep a local copy or not, a new Desktop and Documents folder is created in your home folder. If you choose to keep a local copy, your files in iCloud Drive are copied to a folder called iCloud Drive (Archive) in your home folder. Then you have the option to move any files that were in your iCloud Desktop and Documents, back to your new local Desktop and Documents.

Laptop
Once you have moved the files and turned off iCloud Drive, you can go to www.icloud.com and delete files on iCloud to free up space. Check out this article to Manage your iCloud storage and follow these steps:
Unsync Dropbox

Unsync Dropbox From Laptop

Cloud.com

You can manage your files from the iCloud Drive app at iCloud.com.

  1. Sign in to iCloud.com.
  2. Click the iCloud Drive app.
  3. Select the files that you want to delete, then click .
  4. Open the iCloud Drive folder and click Recently Deleted.
  5. Select the files that you want to delete.
  6. Click Delete.

How Do I Unsync Files From Dropbox


Have a great day!

May 16, 2018 11:37 PM

Selective sync is a feature in the Dropbox desktop app that lets you choose folders to remove from your hard drive so you can save space on your computer. The folders you choose to remove from your hard drive remain stored in your account on dropbox.com.

Note: You can’t remove individual files with selective sync—only folders, and the files and folders inside them.

Selective sync explained

Note: The selective sync preferences you choose are unique to each computer and don’t affect the other computers you use with Dropbox.

Selective sync lets you choose which folders you’d like to store on your computer’s hard drive from all of the folders you have stored in your Dropbox account. If you check a folder, that folder and the files and folders inside it are saved to your hard drive. If you uncheck a folder, that folder and the files and folders inside it are removed from your hard drive, and are only stored on dropbox.com.

You can view the sync status of your folders from your desktop app preferences or from the Dropbox folder on your computer:

Local — The folder is saved to your hard drive and dropbox.com

Syncing/Updating — The folder is updating

Other sync statuses:

Online-only — Learn more about online-only files in this Smart Sync article

Unsync Dropbox Files

Mixed — The folder contains files and/or folders that are local and online-only

Choose which folders to store on your hard drive

Note: You must install the Dropbox desktop application to use selective sync.

To check and uncheck which folders to store on your computer:

  1. Open your Dropbox desktop app preferences.
  2. Click the Sync tab.
  3. Under Selective Sync, click Choose folders (Mac) or Selective Sync… (Windows).
  4. Check the folders you’d like saved on your hard drive. Uncheck the folders you’d like removed.
  5. Click Update.

Smart Sync vs. Selective Sync

Unsync dropbox from windows

Note: Smart Sync is only available to Dropbox customers on Plus, Family, Professional, or Business plans.

Smart Sync also helps you save space on your hard drive. Instead of completely removing files and folders, Smart Sync lets you make files and folders online-only so they’re still visible from your computer, even though they’re only stored on dropbox.com. It also has an automatic setting that makes files and folders online-only, based on how you use them.